Skip to main content Skip to home page

Deaconess News

Deaconess Primary Stroke Centers Reaccredited by HFAP

EVANSVILLE & NEWBURGH, IN – Deaconess Midtown Hospital and Deaconess Gateway Hospitals were recently awarded reaccreditation by the Healthcare Facilities Accreditation Program (HFAP), the nation’s original independent, accreditation organization recognized by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). Accreditation confirms that both Deaconess Primary Stroke Center locations are providing high quality care as determined by an independent, external process of evaluation.
“Because of this reaccreditation, stroke patients and their families can know that fast, exceptional and complete stroke care is provided at both Deaconess Midtown Hospital and Deaconess Gateway Hospital,” said Angie Black, MSN, RN, CCRN-K, SCRN, NE-BC, Stroke Service Line Manager. “Receiving HFAP reaccreditation is an external symbol of the talent and dedication of our doctors, nurses, providers, and staff.”
About Deaconess Primary Stroke Centers
Deaconess Midtown Hospital and Deaconess Gateway Hospital were designated as Primary Stroke Centers in 2006. Since that time, thousands of stroke patients have received nationally-recognized care leading to improved outcomes and survival rates. 
Currently, Deaconess Primary Stroke Centers provide care to more than 2 out of 3 stroke patients in the region. 
About HFAP
HFAP is a nationally recognized not-for-profit accreditation organization with deeming authority from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. Originally created in 1945, HFAP is the original healthcare accrediting body in the United States. HFAP accreditation is recognized by the federal government, state governments, managed care organizations, and insurance companies. In 2015, the Accreditation Association for Hospitals/Health Systems (AAHHS), acquired and assumed management of HFAP’s range of accreditation and specialty certification programs. For more information about these programs, visit:
Top Back to top