Deaconess News Room > CVICU Receives Beacon Award
Latest newsRSS

CVICU Receives Beacon Award

The American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) recently conferred a gold-level Beacon Award for Excellence on the Cardiovascular Intensive Care Unit (CVICU) at Deaconess Hospital. Gold is the highest level of recognition given for this designation. The CVICU is only the 4th Beacon winner in the state of Indiana.  
The Beacon Award for Excellence recognizes unit caregivers who successfully improve patient outcomes and align practices with AACN’s six Healthy Work Environment Standards.
Those standards include:
• Leadership Structures and Systems
• Appropriate Staffing and Staff Engagement
• Effective Communication, Knowledge Management, Learning and        Development
• Evidence-Based Practice and Processes
• Outcome Measurement

“This is a significant accomplishment by an extraordinary nursing team who leveraged their collaborative relationships with critical care physicians and hospitalists to deliver great patient care. We have every reason to be very proud of this team,” says Vice President and Chief Nursing Officer Cherona Hajewski.
“I am so proud of the staff on the CVICU,” says Director of Patient Care Services Jill Buttry. “Applying for the Beacon designation required a lot of effort but ultimately shows our patients and families the extremely high level of quality care they can expect on this unit.”
CVICU Manager Kintina Chapman adds, “During the review period, our unit went 504 days without a patient fall, and had an incident rate of 0 cases for catheter and central line infections. That means so much for our patients who need to recover from cardiac arrest, severe sepsis, or renal failure.”
About the Beacon Award for Excellence: Established in 2003, the Beacon Award for Excellence offers a road map to help guide exceptional care through improved outcomes and greater overall patient satisfaction. U.S. or Canadian units where patients receive their principal nursing care after hospital admission qualify for this excellence award. To learn more, visit
About the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses: Founded in 1969 and based in Aliso Viejo, Calif., the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) is the largest specialty nursing organization in the world. AACN joins together the interests of more than 500,000 acute and critical care nurses and claims more than 235 chapters worldwide. To learn more about AACN, visit