Deaconess Family Medicine Residency

How to Apply

Thank you for your interest in the Deaconess Hospital Family Medicine Residency Program.

The Deaconess program is an unopposed family medicine residency with eight positions available at each level (8-8-8). We offer education and training in the delivery of comprehensive family-oriented medical care that is consistent with the requirements for accreditation by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education. Our program has been fully accredited by the ACGME since 1976.

The mission of our residency is to train physicians to provide high-quality, cost-effective medical care necessary for a productive and successful career in Family Medicine. Upon completion of the program, physicians are eligible for certification by the American Board of Family Medicine. With these goals in mind, we seek applicants who are eager to learn and advance their medical skills.

Application Criteria

To be considered as a candidate for our residency program, all applicants must submit a universal application via the Electronic Residency Application System (ERAS).

All applicants:
  1. Must have passed USMLE/COMLEX I, USMLE/COMLEX II CK/CS or CE/PE prior to beginning residency training.
  2. Must be a US citizen or permanent resident alien.
  3. Must be able to obtain Indiana medical license under Indiana Professional Licensing Agency guidelines.
  4. Must have passed USMLE/COMLEX II CS or PE prior to submitting match list.
  5. Must have completed ERAS application prior to submitting match list.
International applicants:
  1. Must have passed the USMLE Part I & Part II CK on initial attempt with a raw score 210 or higher and USMLE Part II CS on initial attempt.
  2. Must have graduated medical school no more than 3 years from potential start date of residency.
  3. Must have or be eligible to obtain a current and valid ECFMG certificate prior to the start of residency.