You are here: Careers > Department and Position Profiles > Nursing at Deaconess > Nurse of the Year Awards

Nurse of the Year Awards

Nurse of the Year awards are presented during Nurses Week in recognition of individual nurses who have demonstrated an exemplary level of practice, and are recognized by peers, other colleagues, physicians, leadership or even families who come forward and submit a nomination form to recognize these individuals.

Nominees celebrate with their families and friends at the Nurse of the Year ceremony where awards are presented for the following categories: mentorship, nursing leadership, advancement of the profession, excellence in clinical practice, community service, and the Florence Nightingale award for inpatient and outpatient care.

2014 Nurses of the Year

  • Mentorship - David N., RN, CMSRN 
  • Leadership - Claire B., BSN, RN, CMSRN 
  • Community Service - Olivia G., BSN, RN
  • Excellence In Clinical Practice - Susan M., BSN, RN, CCRN, TNS 
  • Advancement Of The Profession - Mary Y., BSN, RN, CCRN
  • Florence Nightingale, Main Campus - Sara M., BSN, RN, CVN
  • Florence Nightingale, Gateway - Rebecca D., BSN, RN, OCN, CHPN
  • Florence Nightingale , Cross Pointe - Edna F., BSN, RN-BC
  • Lifetime Achievement Award - Diana E., BSN, RN, CN, BC

2013 Nurses of the Year

  • Mentorship:  Ashley Bateman
  • Leadership:  Sheiliea Thomas
  • Advancement of the Profession:  Maggie Tharp
  • Excellence in Clinical Practice:  Alicia Alley
  • Community Service:  Margaret Anderson
  • Florence Nightingale (CP):  Rhonda Viehe
  • Florence Nightingale (GW):  Pam Glazebrook
  • Florence Nightingale (Main):  Dawn Rowley

Each year, Deaconess nurses nominate their peers for these awards. Winners are chosen based on customer service to patients and/or peers, clinical excellence, growth in profession (through educational opportunities such as inservices, reviewing journals, classes, committees and certifications), and examples of leadership, teamwork and/or mentoring qualities on the unit, in the hospital or in the community.